President inaugurates ‘Women Plus Bazaar 2023’ (Pics) – Sri Lanka Mirror – Right to Know. Power to Change

Sharing With others

Parliament paid their final respects to former Speaker – Joseph Michael Perera, today (30).

President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Speaker – Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana, Deputy Speaker – Ajith Rajapakse, Leader of the Opposition – Sajith Premadasa, Cabinet Members, MPs and former MPs Members of Parliament, former Members of Parliament were present to pay their respects.Furthermore, former Presidents – Mahinda Rajapaksa and Maithreepala Sirisena as well as former Speaker Karu Jayasuriya were also present to pay final respects.

Ambassadors, the Parliament secretariat headed by Mr. Dhammika Dasanayake, Secretary-General of Parliament ,former members of staff and staff affiliated to the Parliament and relatives of the Late former Speaker were present at this occasion.

Upon the arrival of the hearse carrying the remains of Mr. Joseph Michael Perera at the main steps of the Parliament complex where the Speaker, President, Deputy Speaker, Party Leaders,  Secretary General of Parliament – Ms. Kushani Rohanadeera, Chief of Staff and Deputy Secretary General of Parliament received the remains of the late former Speaker.

Thereafter the Serjeant-at-Arms, Deputy Serjeant-at-Arms and Assistant Sergeant-at- Arms escort the remains received, along the red carpet which was kept at the special ceremonial hall located in the front hall of the Parliament building.

The President and Speaker signed a note of condolence following paying their last respects. Thereafter, Deputy Speaker, Leader of the Opposition, Party Leaders, former Presidents, Members of Parliament, Ambassadors, The Secretariate and other dignitaries also joined to pay last respects.

The funeral ended with the Speaker and others leading the remains along the red carpet and placing it back in the hearse.

Source link

Sharing With others